Destination Premier League for Pep Guardiola

Pep-GuardiolaPep Guardiola has finally came out and confirmed that he is leaving Bayern Munich at the end of season to coach in the English Premier.
A tug of war is most likely ensue amongst England top tier clubs Chelsea, Manchester City , Manchester United after Pep Guardiola gave a clear indication regarding his next coaching destination.
Manchester City remains in pole position to land the services of one of the most decorated and wanted coach of the modern era game. However Man City will have to fight off stiff competition from Chelsea and Manchester United whom are also in pursuit to lure Guardiola.

Guardiola leaves Bayern Munich after three successful seasons at the helm. During his time Bayern dominated the domestic league winning back to back Bundesliga titles since 2013. It is with continental tournament wherein Bayern Munich have not seen much success in recent times, having been knocked out in the semi-final stages of the Champions league in the past two seasons.

In his first public engagement regarding future prospects Guardiola said:
The reason I have not extended my contract is simple: I want to manage in the Premier League. I have several offers from England, but I haven’t committed myself yet. When I have a new club, the club will communicate that. At the moment, nothing is fixed.

If I were 60 or 65 I would have stayed but I think I am too young. I need a new challenge. It was a dream, it is a dream. I am very grateful to Bayern for this huge opportunity. I’m going to give the best to the last day.

It is widely speculated that Manchester City have already secured Guardiola’s signature – his close personal relationship with City’s Sporting director Txiki Begiristain as well as the overall long term plans for the club seems to have won Guardiola over to the Etihad.
However both camps are keeping cards close to their hearts, and only waiting on to release a full on statement by the end of the current season.

follow @FootballNinjaSA for more updates

Leave a Reply

